top of page

Are You Happy or Joyful?

What do you mean am I happy or joyful? They're the same thing right? If you're asking this question, not too long ago, I was asking the same thing too. So I took a look at the two words and realized there is a difference.

Joy is almost something like a lifestyle whereas happiness can be fleeting and is rooted more in moments than in time. I can be joyful but going through a really sucky time in life and I can be happy without being joyful. So how can you promote joy in life versus just being happy all the time. Here are a few things I've picked up over the months.

1) Feel Sad

Being joyful is who you are as a person, it doesn't mean you can't feel other emotions though. I'm a joyful person but there have been many times I've dealt with depression and anxiety in my life. Life is hard and it can put you through the ringer but that doesn't mean you can't be a joyful person. So be lenient with yourself and don't try to be happy all the time. It will make you seem fake at times and it's not healthy for you mentally or emotionally. So please, feel your emotions and don't try to force happiness on yourself.

2) Have Deep Relationships

This one is going to be a little difficult to explain. There's a difference between having relationships and having deep relationships. You can have moments of happiness with friends when you're making memories and having adventures and doing something unique and fun. But you find joy with those deep relationships in moments where you're just sitting watching a movie or working on homework at a coffee shop. Those are the times that define my deep relationships. That's where I find joy, knowing that I have someone in my life where I can do nothing, let down my guard, and just be myself. I'm known for me, not for the happy expression I put on.

3) Live For Something Greater

Life is bigger than yourself and when you realize that, you can put things in to perspective. I feel like there are very few people who can easily brush things off when ish goes wrong. It's definitely not any easy thing to do but if you take life loosely and put everything in perspective, this gets so much easier. There was one day where everything seemingly went wrong in my life. I got little sleep, had to wake up early to film a wedding, was running late to said wedding, didn't realize the whole wedding was outside so I got sun burnt. Then on the way home my car broke down, I waited 2 hours for the tow truck, oh and my phone was almost dead. To any outsider, that is a seemingly bad day but I didn't mind one bit because I took it all with a grain of salt. I'd be burnt for a few days and then it would go away. I made it for the important part of the wedding. The car could be fixed and although I wasn't able to use my phone for the two hours because it was dangerously close to 0, I did get to look at the sun setting over the ocean and I got to test my Hamilton accapella skills. If you take everything with a grain of salt and put it all in perspective, it's so much easier to live a joyful life versus trying to be happy all the time.

But being joyful isn't something that is going to happen over night. It's a way of living life. Don't run away or hide your emotions. Connect with people on a truly deep level to where you can actually be yourself and let your guard down. And don't forget to live for something greater and put everything in perspective. You'll start to notice a difference between the times when you are

happy and the times your are truly living a joyful life.

Love, Taylor

bottom of page